Thankful

Hello! Happy Monday.

I understand that what I write will not be adored by everyone who reads it, and that is perfectly alright. I’m a conservative 19 year old at a liberal arts university… I can handle the disagreement. But, today I am writing about how thankful I am to be a millennial woman in the United States of America.

No no, I will not go all political on you. But, I will tell you how I feel, because recently, so many have complained and I, like lots of you, am very tired of the complaining. Complaining does not nor will not help, and I think we have lost sight of what is important and forgotten how blessed we are.

As a nineteen-year-old girl, I can look back and realize that I have had so many opportunities in this nation. From pre-school to present, I have received an awesome education. I have had the freedom to choose where to go to school and what to study. I have the freedom to choose what I want to wear daily. I have the freedom to be a Christian, to choose my religion, to carry a Bible, and be open about my faith. I have the freedom to work where I want. I can go wherever I want, and travel to wherever I would like to travel. I can own my own apartment or home. I can find comfort in knowing that I am safe in that home, and I have friends and family that can join me in that home. I can go out to eat, and drink endless glasses of clean water. I can drive my car, and use whatever clean bathroom I want to use.

This list goes on, and on, and on.

This is on my heart because I have been to and hear about countries around this world that have none of those things. Women cannot wear what they want. They are walking miles upon miles to get water, not to get paid for it, but to continue to live. They don’t have a single opportunity to ever go to school, let alone get a degree in whatever they want. They cannot be seen carrying a Bible or going to church, or speaking out for their faith without punishment. They do not always have a home to go back to. They do not have endless clean water in their faucet. They are most definitely not always safe, and yes, women and children most definitely are sold for sex. They do not always have a family, nor do they always have food to eat.

This is a hard truth, yet, they live their life in complete happiness.

While in Guatemala and Dominican Republic, I visited “homes” that were about 5 ft. x 5 ft. with 6 people living in them. These people slept on the floor, they did not have a bathroom or laundry room, or a television or a phone, they had nothing. But, let me tell you that these were some of the happiest, friendliest, most gracious, caring, loving and generous people I have ever met.

These are the women who I look up to. These are the women that work so hard, every single day, and have barely any money to their name.

They are not complaining, they are not arguing, they know that this is their one shot at this life, and my word, they make the most of it and work so hard to do so.

I know that this is not the case in many nations, but it is the situation in more than we think. I would love for everyone to take a second to be thankful for The United States of America, where we are oh so free.

I do not want you to think your life is terrible because you are a woman in 2017. I want you to be proud that you are, because we are blessed, and nobody will take that away from you.

I want my future daughter(s) (if that’s God’s plan..) to be proud of who they are. I do not want them to think that they are oppressed. I do not want them to get so caught up in what they want that they forget what they have. I want them to embrace the life that they are given and face challenges head on. I do not want them to be ungrateful that they are a woman, because it is an honor to take on the roles we have been given, and we, in America, have so much more than many other women around the world.

Donald Trump is your president, whether you like it or not, and it is his turn to lead this beautiful place, and I pinky promise you that he will not ruin your life. Be thankful that you are here to see what he can do, and if you are not, you can go try somewhere else.

If you ask me, I think he is doing a pretty dang good job. Cease the day, ladies.

Love always,

Mads ❤

Leave a Reply

