Obsessed

 

Honestly, this is probably going to be the most lovey dovey, cheesy, teenage girl-ish, blog I will ever write. There’s your warning, so you can x-out now if that’s not your thing. But, there’s quite a bit of advice for you too.

This is about me being completely obsessed with another human being. For years, I was trusting God to bring me the man that I would fall head over heels for. I didn’t know when it would happen or when this man would come into my life. I prayed for him, and thought about who it would be quite a bit. What high school girl doesn’t, right? I didn’t just fall head over heels, I straight up crashed.

Plot twist. I was praying for some dude that I grew up with and had called one of my best friends since first grade. He’s always been around, pulling my hair, beating me at everything, farting on me; the super cool boy things.

He became the one that I wanted to spend week nights with doing my homework,  the one who I wouldn’t take my eyes off of on the football field or basketball court, and the one that would eventually become my better half.

This man of God is Logan Morrison, the cutest kid in the whole wide world. After taking a shot at having my first boyfriend and his first girlfriend our sophomore year, I decided that I was entirely too immature and young to have a boyfriend and we went back to simply being best friends. So, a year and a half later I texted the kid again confessing my obsession toward him and how adorable he was and, fortunately, it was a pretty mutual thing. We talked for a solid 24 hours and then picked up right where we left off.

July 4, 2014 was the beginning of something I never thought that I would have. All of the sudden my “relationship goals” was my actual, real life relationship. After reflecting on our relationship a year and a half later, it seems pretty crazy, the things he has done for me and the ways he has changed me.

Not only is Logan my best friend, but a stellar accountability partner. My relationship with The Lord has strengthened and with God at the center of our relationship, life couldn’t be much better. Praying together, trusting God with our future/current long distance stuff, and striving to please Him in every aspect of our relationship is extremely important to us and essential if we want to remain “us.”

If you know me, you understand that I laugh constantly and unfortunately at the most inappropriate times. It’s like I was born with the ability to laugh at everything and then not be able to shut up. And, if you know Logan, you know he was born with the ability to say something that will make everyone laugh(including himself), and honestly about 85% of the things he says or does are actually hilarious. The other 15% are things that I most likely don’t understand, like physics or airplanes or whatever.

So, together it’s pretty funny. Laughter and smiles are inevitable. We definitely are never bored. We have a shared obsession for Royals baseball(before everyone else in Missouri and Kansas did, pre- October). We both are athletic and like to go on new adventures. We both are in love with missions work and little children that are orphaned. We’re both over 6 feet tall… There’s so many things I could continue to bore you with, but I can tell you what I have learned from this man of God and aspects of him that I dream every girl can find in the man they, too, crash head over heels for.

He is my number one supporter, from volleyball to my future to my major, he is always behind me and is 100% down for whatever I believe is good for myself. Not only does he support me, but he encourages me down the entire path of the journey. When I want to drop out of school and major in being a stay at home mom, he gets me back on the Spanish grind because he believes in me and, friends, he gets me to believe in myself.

Logan Morrison is my best friend(alongside Grace, of course). And if there is anything that I could rant about forever outside of my Jesus rants, it would be how much of a blessing it is to fall in love with your best friend. I have heard the quotes and seen the tweets and listen to the break ups that “dating your best friend ruins your whole relationship.” And I can tell you right now that this is the farthest thing from true. Maybe your values and effort need some reevaluation, because going from best friend to girlfriend does change a couple things. Once you truly are best friends, you understand each other. You completely get their values, beliefs, obsessions, habits, weirdness, what makes them happy, and what they love. You know their life, you know what they have been through and experienced, you know their aspirations, and if you are their best friend; you love them no matter what. So, why would you not fall in love with your best friend? I’m telling you, it completely changed my life and we become greater friends daily.

He loves me with a love that is more than love. It is the sort of love that Jesus shows us; never-ending, hard-working, happy, non-circumstantial, and persevering. When I am happy, he is happy. We celebrate with one another. We are genuinely happy for each other, even with the little things.

He trusts me with everything he has, and vice versa. We know things about each other that only our parents know about us, he knows my dumb little secrets, and no matter what, it’s safe. Trust has become essential to our love, especially now as we live ten hours away from each other and don’t have the opportunity to talk as much as normal couples do. Texting is slow, talking is maybe every other day, and seeing each other is… Well, I’ll see him in four months. It isn’t easy by any means, but the trust that we have in each other, in God, and in our future makes every single thing perfectly alright. In a nutshell, we have this trust thing down.

He is adventurous and gets me out of my comfort zone. If you would have told me that I would climb the underside of a bridge above a waterfall just to take GoPro videos and sweet pictures, I would have called you crazy. But, guess what I did in Colorado? Climbed the underside of a bridge to take GoPro videos and sweet pictures.

We love being by each other’s side at home, but we can continue to live our dreams long distance. We do not hold each other back or influence one another’s aspirations. He wanted to go to the United States Air Force Academy, I wanted to play some college volleyball in Kansas. Saying goodbye for extended periods of time is awful and I am entirely too emotional for it, but it happens. And, we make it. It makes seeing each other even more fun and it all pays off in the end.

He’s my little cheerleader and he is so proud of me. Once I get to where I want to be, he is right there cheering me on and helping me. Even the little things, like not burning the pizza rolls, I get a high five for.

We’re extremely comfortable around each other. Maybe a little too comfortable, if that’s a thing. My things are his things, my house is his house, my ugly snapchats are sent to him, and his farts are… Mine. 😉

He listens to me no matter how dumb the words I’m saying are. From the impromptu Taylor Swift outbreaks to my mental breakdowns to my rants about Spanish or cool adoption facts; he is listening and actually taking it in. Listening to your other half is so important, and taking in their words is essential. Remembering little things they say can mean so much to them. And, Logan does this. He asks how my day is going, listens to me, and cares about what I did.

We’re immature around each other. We don’t care about mistakes. We have so much fun when we’re together. We make the most out of every situation. He’s the one I want to talk to when I’m happy and when I’m sad. He keeps his promises. He includes me in his future. He makes me feel like the most beautiful girl in the world. We’re extremely competitive, even though he wins (almost) everything. Most importantly, he brings out the best in me and strengthens my faith through his. God is first, no matter what. He has made God so evident in his life and love that it makes me a better person, and together we learn, grow, and strengthen our walk with God. And, of course, there’s something about his smile with the dimples that makes me absolutely, crazy in love.

Honestly, I never thought I would be so in love. But, here I am, crashing for my first grade crush and best friend.

Girls, I pray you find a man of God like this. One who you trust and love with everything you have, makes you the happiest you can be, is proud to have you by his side, would do anything for you, and who loves God more than he loves you. I hope you become obsessed. I hope you crash head over heels. I hope you are patient and don’t give yourself away. I hope you keep your morals and faith, not changing for a man. I hope you love him with a love that Jesus loves us with. Finally, I hope that he is your best friend.

I cannot imagine my life without him and I wouldn’t trade him for the world. I am absolutely obsessed with Logan Morrison, and I thank God for that human being daily. He is such a blessing, and I know that your blessing is out there too, waiting for you to cross his path.

If I can find one in my graduating class of 12, you can find one on this earth with billions of people. I pinky promise.

Love always,

Mads ❤

Leave a Reply

